Poem in Your Pocket Day is April 21, 2016

This is national poetry month. Read a poem. Write a poem. Give a poem. Be a poem. Find poems roaming about in your community. Hear a poem spoken, powerful and free.

I’m writing a poem a day. My poem for April 1 is:

Shopping Carts

A tattered man pushes a shopping cart
Slowly down the sidewalk
Against oncoming traffic
On Brightleaf Boulevard.

The cart is loaded with
Useful discards:
Cardboard, sheet plastic,
Week-old bread from a dumpster dive,
A bucket, a walking stick,
And a red ball cap,
“Make America Great Again.”

This shopping cart, while borrowed,
Is being used.
It’s not abandoned under
A skinny tree at Costco or
blocking prime spaces at Lowe’s.

When I walk in the Food Lion
I can’t pull the tight row of carts apart
And by the time I reach the produce section
I see I’ve taken the tilt-a-cart with
the squeaky gyrating left front wheel.

It distracts me so much
I’m backing out of my space before I realize
I forgot my treat:
A bag of Brim’s Barbecue Pork Rinds –
“They’re Smoked.”

The man still moves slowly down Brightleaf.
He’d like a treat:
A job, a home, a warm woman, a cold beer.
He’d like to binge watch House of Cards on Netflix
while eating pork rinds, too.
But for now, he has this walker
Filled with treasure
And a mile to go
Before his wooded rest.

Cart on Main St

Carry a poem in your pocket on April 21, along with others around the world, and share it with hashtag #pocketpoem.

More info at: https://www.poets.org/national-poetry-month/poem-your-pocket-day

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

