Open Mic Night at Deja Brew

Image

 

Last time Poets & Writers went live at Deja Brew

I streamed it from my computer at home

Now I’m in the center of the purple klieg lights

A few white papers heavy in my hand

That Jamaica You Crazy might just stop my heart

In front of all the people in this coffee shop

Waiting to hear my first amplified words.

 

I’ll tell you where I got the courage.

Last Saturday I was at the Rising Writers Workshop

In Old Town Manassas

And two young women

from Woodbridge Senior High School challenged me.

 

They said “Don’t ever be afraid to stand up

And say what you want to say. Be raw. Be fearless.

Like Nikki Giovanni.  Like Andrea Gibson.”

 

Easy to be out there when you’re 17. I’ll be 60 next month.

The middle years have pinched me into a corner

Until the waiter doesn’t even see my hand any more.

 

So I leaned into the mic and offered up my poems

Fresh as wheat bread turned out of the loaf pans

Thump them. Butter the crust.

Savor them for breakfast when you wake this morning

And remember Deja Brew.

 

Cindy Brookshire

April 4, 2014

3 thoughts on “Open Mic Night at Deja Brew

Leave a Reply

