Stand in the place where you live

I live in a growing city. It is important to be informed, to participate and to vote.

ice skating at the harris pavilion by robin kruczek 2004
ice skating at the harris pavilion by robin kruczek 2004

I watch City Council meetings on cable TV or on the city website. I help at the registrar’s office and during elections. I attend town hall meetings when I can. I attended one in December, and saw my legislators before they left for Richmond. I even wrote about it, because one of the citizens who spoke, Illana Naylor, brought up the importance of addressing climate change policy on a state level, a subject I had just been studying through the Lifelong Learning Institute-Manassas:  http://princewilliamliving.com/2014/01/lli-offers-climate-change-myth-reality/

Now that the 2014 Virginia General Assembly has opened, I can track bills and watch live streaming floor sessions here: http://virginiageneralassembly.gov – and this Saturday, Jan. 11 at noon,  I can even watch the inauguration of the governor when it is shown live on the website.

A few years ago I discovered www.richmondsunlight.com. I like it because it is easy to navigate, and neutral.

I like the League of Women Voters of Virginia website, too, at www.lwv-va.org, though some would argue they aren’t neutral because they take positions and lobby for those positions. You be the judge.

And of course I like the State Board of Elections at www.sbe.virginia.gov because the website answers questions about registering to vote and upcoming elections.

So that’s my local life. What’s yours?

One thought on “Stand in the place where you live

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

