Filling the first blank page.

Asha Bruot posted a quote from Brad Paisley on her ASHA Public Relations’ Facebook page today: “Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.”

I replied, “Taking you up on this one.”

And so, I start this blog. It has been empty since I set it up last May. Like the shoemaker whose children have no shoes, I’ve been too busy with my business writing and meeting deadlines to mess with the creative writing. I’ve been running around, helping to build a network of local writers through Write by the Rails, the Prince William Chapter of the Virginia Writers Club. “You need to blog,” I tell other writers. “You need to use social media.” “You need to build a platform.”

Meanwhile, my own platform is yellowing stacks of paper in what used to be my son’s bedroom before he went to college.

At the last few meet-and-greets, our informal gatherings to network at local coffee shops like Grounds Central Station on Main Street in Old Town Manassas, I realized that of the table full of writers, I was the only one present who had not published a book. And yet, a year ago, none of us had.

So my new year’s resolution is #1, to finish my non-fiction book.  It’s now on the temporary table in my office. I set a kitchen timer. I must work on it at least one hour every day. My #2 is to collect all my short stories and poems into one place and throw the yellowed papers out.  And #3 is to animate this blog with regular entries of the journey along the way as I build my own platform – one much

new year's resolution: finish the nonfiction book

new year’s resolution: finish the nonfiction book

stronger than hidden and decaying papers.

One thought on “Filling the first blank page.

Leave a Reply

